Connect with us

Leader board

Celebrity Gossip

Radio and Weasel Miss out on BET Awards 2014 [FULL LIST]



Nigerian musical exports Davido and Tiwa Savage have bagged their first ever BET Awards nominations as they vie for this year’s ‘International Act Africa’ award as Ugandans missed out. The Nigerian artistes compete with three other African acts nominated in the category – South Africa’s Mafikizolo, Ghana’s Sarkodie, Tanzania’s Diamond Platnumz and Togo’s Toofan. Tiwa Savage had a fantastic run in 2013, releasing her debut album ‘Once Upon a Time’ while Davido kept the charts burning with hit singles ‘Gobe’ and the infectious ‘Skelewu’. 


Radio at BET 2013 Award ceremony

Last year, Ice Prince and 2face Idibia were nominated for the awards with the latter walking away with the prize. The toughest category at the awards will have to be ‘Best Male R&B/Pop Artist’ which sees Pharell Williams, Justin Timberlake, John Legend, Chris Brown and newbie August Alsina slugging it out. 

The awards will take place on Sunday, June 29, 2014 at the Nokia Theatre L.A., Los Angeles. The show will premiere on BET International in Africa on 1 July. Check out the complete list of nominees below.

Best Female R&B/Pop Artist

Janelle Monáe 
Jhené Aiko 
K. Michelle 
Tamar Braxton

Best Male R&B/Pop Artist

August Alsina 
Chris Brown 
John Legend
Justin Timberlake 
Pharrell Williams

Best Group

A$AP Mob 
Daft Punk 
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis 
Young Money

Best Collaboration

August Alsina f/ Trinidad Jame$ – ‘I Luv This’ 
Beyoncé f/ Jay Z – ‘Drunk in Love’
Drake f/ Majid Jordan – ‘Hold on (We’re Going Home)’
Jay Z f/ Justin Timberlake – ‘Holy Grail’ 
Robin Thicke f/ T.I. & Pharrell Williams – ‘Blurred Lines’ 
YG f/ Jeezy & Rich Homie Quan – ‘My Hitta’

Best Male Hip Hop Artist

J. Cole 
Jay Z 
Kendrick Lamar

Best Female Hip Hop Artist

Angel Haze 
Charli Baltimore 
Iggy Azalea 
Nicki Minaj

Video of the Year

Beyoncé – ‘Partition’
Beyoncé f/ Jay Z – ‘Drunk in Love’
Chris Brown – ‘Fine China’ 
Drake – ‘Worst Behaviour’
Pharrell Williams – ‘Happy’

Video Director of the Year

Benny Boom 
Chris Brown 
Colin Tilley 
Director X 
Hype Williams

Best New Artist

Ariana Grande 
August Alsina 
Mack Wilds 
Rich Homie Quan
ScHoolboy Q

Best Gospel Artist

Donnie McClurkin 
Erica Campbell 
Hezekiah Walker 
Tamela Mann
Tye Tribbett

Best Actress

Angela Bassett 
Gabrielle Union 
Kerry Washington 
Lupita Nyong’o 
Oprah Winfrey

Best Actor

Chiwetel Ejiofor 
Forest Whitaker 
Idris Elba 
Kevin Hart 
Michael B. Jordan

YoungStars Award

Gabrielle Douglas 
Jacob Latimore 
Jaden Smith 
KeKe Palmer 

Best Movie

12 Years a Slave 
The Best Man Holiday 
Fruitvale Station 
Kevin Hart: Let Me Explain 
Lee Daniels’ The Butler

Subway Sportswoman of the Year

Brittney Griner 
Lolo Jones 
Serena Williams 
Skylar Diggins 
Venus Williams

Subway Sportsman of the Year

Blake Griffin 
Carmelo Anthony 
Floyd Mayweather Jr. 
Kevin Durant 
LeBron James

Centric Award

Aloe Blacc – ‘The Man’
Jennifer Hudson f/ T.I. – ‘I Can’t Describe (The Way I Feel)’
Jhené Aiko – ‘The Worst’
LiV Warfield – ‘Why Do You Lie?’
Wale f/ Sam Dew – ‘LoveHate Thing’

Best International Act: Africa

Davido (Nigeria) 
Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania) 
Mafikizolo (South Africa) 
Sarkodie (Ghana) 
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria) 
Toofan (Togo)

Best International Act: UK

Dizzee Rascal 
Krept & Konan 
Laura Mvula 
Rita Ora
Tinie Tempah

Credit: NGNews

Start making money online today with Bitcoin. Sign up here!

(Visited 1 time, 1 visit today)

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Facebook

%d bloggers like this: