Connect with us

Leader board

Celebrity Gossip

Beyoncé, Jay Z Lead BET Awards nominations



Jay Z and Beyoncé lead the nominations for this year’s BET Awards with four nods each.

Beyoncé is up for Video of the Year twice, for her clips for ‘Partition’ and ‘Drunk in Love’, which features Jay Z.

Bey - Jay Z

Jay Z has also been nominated for Best Male Hip Hop Artist as well as Best Collaboration for ‘Drunk in Love’ and ‘Holy Grail’ with Justin Timberlake.

Drake, Chris Brown, Pharrell Williams and August Alsina are close behind the couple with three nominations each. 

Stephen Hill, BET’s President of Music Programming and Specials, said: “This year’s nominees represent the best of the culture

“It’s great to see our talented new artists right alongside our more beloved ones with long careers. We appreciate our BET Awards nomination committee, over 300 strong, for their efforts and congratulate all the nominees.”

The host for the 2014 BET Awards will be announced tonight, with the awards taking place at the Nokia Theatre in LA on June 29.

The full 2014 BET Awards nominees are as follows:

Best Female R&B/Pop Artist

Janelle Monáe 
Jhené Aiko 
K. Michelle 
Tamar Braxton

Best Male R&B/Pop Artist

August Alsina 
Chris Brown 
John Legend
Justin Timberlake 
Pharrell Williams

Best Group

A$AP Mob 
Daft Punk 
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis 
Young Money

Best Collaboration

August Alsina f/ Trinidad Jame$ – ‘I Luv This’ 
Beyoncé f/ Jay Z – ‘Drunk in Love’
Drake f/ Majid Jordan – ‘Hold on (We’re Going Home)’
Jay Z f/ Justin Timberlake – ‘Holy Grail’ 
Robin Thicke f/ T.I. & Pharrell Williams – ‘Blurred Lines’ 
YG f/ Jeezy & Rich Homie Quan – ‘My Hitta’

Best Male Hip Hop Artist

J. Cole 
Jay Z 
Kendrick Lamar

Best Female Hip Hop Artist

Angel Haze 
Charli Baltimore 
Iggy Azalea 
Nicki Minaj

Video of the Year

Beyoncé – ‘Partition’
Beyoncé f/ Jay Z – ‘Drunk in Love’
Chris Brown – ‘Fine China’ 
Drake – ‘Worst Behaviour’
Pharrell Williams – ‘Happy’

Video Director of the Year

Benny Boom 
Chris Brown 
Colin Tilley 
Director X 
Hype Williams

Best New Artist

Ariana Grande 
August Alsina 
Mack Wilds 
Rich Homie Quan
ScHoolboy Q

Best Gospel Artist

Donnie McClurkin 
Erica Campbell 
Hezekiah Walker 
Tamela Mann
Tye Tribbett

Best Actress

Angela Bassett 
Gabrielle Union 
Kerry Washington 
Lupita Nyong’o 
Oprah Winfrey

Best Actor

Chiwetel Ejiofor 
Forest Whitaker 
Idris Elba 
Kevin Hart 
Michael B. Jordan

YoungStars Award

Gabrielle Douglas 
Jacob Latimore 
Jaden Smith 
KeKe Palmer 

Best Movie

12 Years a Slave 
The Best Man Holiday 
Fruitvale Station 
Kevin Hart: Let Me Explain 
Lee Daniels’ The Butler

Subway Sportswoman of the Year

Brittney Griner 
Lolo Jones 
Serena Williams 
Skylar Diggins 
Venus Williams

Subway Sportsman of the Year

Blake Griffin 
Carmelo Anthony 
Floyd Mayweather Jr. 
Kevin Durant 
LeBron James

Centric Award

Aloe Blacc – ‘The Man’
Jennifer Hudson f/ T.I. – ‘I Can’t Describe (The Way I Feel)’
Jhené Aiko – ‘The Worst’
LiV Warfield – ‘Why Do You Lie?’
Wale f/ Sam Dew – ‘LoveHate Thing’

Best International Act: Africa

Davido (Nigeria) 
Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania) 
Mafikizolo (South Africa) 
Sarkodie (Ghana) 
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria) 
Toofan (Togo)

Best International Act: UK

Dizzee Rascal 
Krept & Konan 
Laura Mvula 
Rita Ora
Tinie Tempah

Source: Digital Spy

Start making money online today with Bitcoin. Sign up here!

(Visited 1 time, 1 visit today)

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Facebook

%d bloggers like this: