Connect with us

Leader board

Entertainment News

UG Hip Hop Awards 2019: Here’s the full list of nominees



UG Hip Hop Awards

By Our Reporter

The third edition of the UG Hip Hop Awards has been announced, revealing the list of nominees and an awards gala date set. The awards are set out to celebrate the best hip hop music released in 2018 and are organized by The Tribe UG. According to The Tribe UG, the aim is to recognise the hip hop musicians that made 2018 a good year for the industry.

“We delighted to be back for the third edition of the hip hop awards. 2018 was a competitive year as we saw some household names go all out in the industry. Additionally, we saw some fresh and underground talent come up to express themselves with some good vibes,” explains Felix Byaruhanga, the PR and Marketing Manager at The Tribe UG.

In partnership with MTN Pulse, the awards ceremony will be held on 8th February 2018 at the MTN TIDAL Warehouse located at the MTN Headquarters on Jinja Road.

“MTN Uganda is once again delighted to be part of the hip hop awards as we appreciate what 2018 was like for this music genre. On top of sponsoring the awards, we are encouraging the public to participate in the fun MTN Cypher competition, an opportunity for them to showcase their rap skills; to win the top prize at stake: UShs1,000,000,” says Hellen Kirungi, the Youth Segment Manager, MTN Uganda.

To participate in the MTN Cypher, one is required to download the MTN Cypher pre-recorded instrumental available on the MTN social media platforms. They then record a 1-minute video on the track mentioning MTN Pulse. Participants will then share the video with friends with the hashtag #MTNCypher on social media (Facebook and Twitter – tagging @mtnug) to attract likes/retweets.

MTN Uganda shall be rewarding the person with the most likes/retweets with UGX 1,000,000. The 1st runner-up wins UGX 500,000 and 2nd runner-up UGX 250,000.

Here’s the full list of nominees:

1. Male Rapper of the Year

Fik Fameica
Fefe Bussi
JK Lubanto
Jim Nola MC

 2. Female Rapper of the Year

MC Yallah
Recho Rey
Tushi Polo
Race T

3. Album of the Year

OMUNGi Attibwa – Mun*G
On My Own – J-Wats
African Reality – AJO
Affropucino – Blixxack
Labongo & Gipir – Judas Rap Knowledge

4. Song of the Year

Yenze Aliko – Flex D’Paper
Terikuzikiza – Recho Rey
Iddi Aimin Dada – Fefe Bussi
Firimu – JK
Lubanto Wubila Hater – KSL

5. Producer of the Year

Mio Made
Dagg Mizzo
Nase Avatar
Yung Jey Basalesale

6. Collaboration of the year

Paper – Navio, Ice Prince, The Mith
Red Cypher – Josh SB, Ginsu, Ruyonga, Barna,
Wake & DJ Stef
Holla Remix – J-Wats, Pryce Teeba, Flex D’Paper,
DelBoy, Play01, Byg Ben
Emisana N’Ekiro – Blixxack & Tucker HD
Gangasta – DJ Crim, T-Bro & Lyrical G

7. Inspirational song of the Year

Believe – Emmix
Brokeness – Jesse10s
Ngenze – Bawanguzi Of Souls
Press On – Barna
Life is Beautiful – Lyrical Mycheal & Anthony Faulkner

8. Video of the Year

Paper – Navio, Ice Prince & The Mith
Firimu – JK Lubanto
Sconto – Fik Fameica
Terikuzikiza – Recho Rey
Iddi Amin Dada – Fefe Bussi

9. Lyricist of the Year

AJO – Transcend
St. Nellysade – Rap Up 2017
Blixxack – The Proem
Recho Rey – Terikuzikiza
Tushi Polo – Ke’Kaseera

10. Rookie of the Year

Recho Rey
Tushi Polo

11. Sweet 16 (Verse of the year)

Slavery – Suspekt
Paper – The Mith
Mpambana – MC Yallah
The Proem – Blixxack
Snapbacks – KSL

12. Mixtape of The year

Kingdome Come – Dagg Mizzo
Broken Master Piece – A1 Fresh
The Intro – Larry
Trap House Memoirs – Sliq Teq
November Came Late – Ledra & MAFB

13. Deejay of the Year

Deejay Crim
Tha DropOut
DJ Slaughter Elly
Deejay Lolah

14. Personality of the Year

The Mith & J Crim – Double Trouble (Urban TV)
Toobi S.M.O.L.Z – Radio King 90.2FM
Byg Kahuna – Hot 100
Meester Deejay & Slaughter Elly – SNMS (Radio City)
Calvin Da Entertainer – UBC TV

15. Rap Fusion of the Year

Nielewe – Navio, Vanessa Mdee
Tubikole – Fik Fameica & Vinka
Karamu – Amani Amaniga
Habiba – St. Nellysade & AB Kale
Gukubila – Lyrical Mychael

16. Diaspora Act of the Year

Jesse 10S
Kleo Namiiro

17. Western Rapper of the Year

Amani Amaniga
Crazie Wispa
T-Bro The King Kiga
Sagio Mhza Xamion’t

18. Northern Rapper of The Year

Gbaraspoken Emcee
O.P.U KobokoBoy
Toobi S.M.O.L.Z
Ken Lee
Judas Rapknowledge

19. Central Rapper of the year

JK Lubanto
Fefe Bussi
Jim Nola MC
Gravity Omutujju
Recho Rey

20. Eastern Rapper of the year

Leumas Owabajaja
Gibbon MC
MamRe Snares

Start making money online today with Bitcoin. Find out how here!

(Visited 1 time, 1 visit today)

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Facebook

%d bloggers like this: